One little advice

TLDR; I’m talking about love and relationship.

My friends often come to me for some advice on relationships. Sometimes I can only offer myself to listen, hug and tell them that things happened. I understand how it feels like when a person is no longer whom we can call “mine”. It just happened, really?

Feelings change and changing is good if we have something to learn from it. I learn that we don’t always end up with the same person every day so I don’t really talk about how happy I am with my current relationship on social media. He’s fine with that. He’s not always on the Internet for stuff like this so we always tell each other that we’re doing this for us, not for others.

So here’s how I met him online a year ago. It sounds very classic but I enjoyed having to listen to him talking about the little things in life. I was in a fight when we first knew so he still remembers everything I told him about the guy I was dating with. It still feels like a joke when we talked about it last night.

At first, I was only hoping for someone to be there for me to listen to my problems and he happened to be that someone. I liked him and he liked me. So I waited every night to share with him my problems. I always got excited over that. But when the night never came for us, I kept my problems under the bed again until I got to talk to him the next day.

We didn’t exchange our phone number although we were already dating, until few months later he confessed to me something that was eye-opening. And that part should only for myself to know and for you to figure it out. Nevertheless, I accepted him back because he was just doing the right thing for us.

I take a long time to know people because I have trust issues. Although I’m not going to blame people for constantly making me feel insecure of my thoughts, sometimes it’s exhausting. He’s like one of my favourite persons on Earth. He taught me so many things that I never thought how tiring it is to become grown-ups. I guess that is how dating someone older than you feels like. That is what a boyfriend is for you – a great listener. He never pushed me to do the things I don’t want. He did clearly understand me better than anyone else and supported me in my studies.

I don’t know how he accepted me after every shit I made only to realize he was always right – “Hey you’re still young, I was young so I know you’ll make mistakes so that you can learn from it. I’m here only to tell you it will get over soon. You’ll pass your teenage years.”

So we decided to meet outside the Internet a few months later. I never realize to this day that I’m still in love with the same person for the little things happening in life. I’m glad that I can always refer to him when I have doubts and I’m feeling relieved to finally talk about him only in one post.

So here’s to hoping that I can always be one of the little things happening in his life too.

Published by

Izzatul Irdina

Not so basic, fragile, homeless.

3 thoughts on “One little advice”

Leave a Reply

